|
Go
![]() |
New
![]() |
Find
![]() |
Notify
![]() |
Tools
![]() |
Reply
![]() |
|
Crew member |
UK CARS SCAM. BE AWARE!!!
Please read carefully if you don’t want to become a victim like me and my sister and some of my friends. I am sending this message from my behalf and from behalf of all the people I know who have been ripped off. I am sending this message to a lot of friends and ask them to forward it to others to help as many people as I can. WANT TO SELL YOUR CAR? LIST OF SOME UK SITES BELOW WHERE NOT TO GO: Motor Network – £89.99 - http://www.motornetwork.co.uk – A COMPLETE RIP OFF. They are looking for car adverts from other websites and start calling the sellers telling them that they have few buyers wanted to buy a car like yours, but you have to register with them first. It is “only” £89.99 one off fee. And that’s it; once they take your money forget it. Be aware, don’t let them take over they may ring you over 5 times today, and pushing you to register with them. They can tell you for example: “We have three buyers who want to buy your car right now.” Well you tell me how, when the buyers haven’t even seen your car? PLEASE AVOID!!! Desperate Seller - £29.99 - http://www.desperateseller.com or co.uk For this money they are going to put your advert in 101 top car websites until sold. – WHAT A LIE. They have a list of this websites, some of them don’t even work and almost all of them (if you’re looking carefully) use the same search technology and the same database. Imagine YOU have a website and then create another 100 small websites and start telling the people that you can put their advert in your “PARTNERS’ WEBSITES” which websites buy the way are all yours. PLEASE AVOID!!! Auto Seek - £15 - http://www.autoseek.co.uk – a Car Data sister site. Car Data - from “just” £79.99 - http://www.cardata.co.uk – PROBABLY THE FOUNDER OF THIS SCAM. THE WEBSITES ABOVE ARE PROBABLY SOME OF THE MANY CAR DATA GAMES. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ LIST OF SOME HIGLY RECOMMENDED UK SITES FOR BUYING OR SELLING CARS: AUTOTRADER – from £5.99 to £45 for two weeks - http://www.autotrader.co.uk WEBMOTORS UK – free and paid option £15 until sold - http://www.webmotors.co.uk EXCHANGE AND MART – from £5 to £15 for two weeks - http://www.exchangeandmart.co.uk FRIDAY AD – from £10 to £45 - http://www.friday-ad.co.uk THE SITES ABOVE ARE RECOMMENDED BECAUSE I AND A LOT OF PEOPLE I KNOW HAVE SOLD THEIR CARS THROUGH THEM. @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@ Please, if you are looking to buy or sell a car from the internet, be very careful which sites you’re visiting and what kind of emails/offers you’re receiving. If you are a seller, you might receive an email message similar to this below: …………………………………………………………………. Sellers lookout for these signs! * Overpayment scams - the person says they want to buy your item without seeing it! They will say they have someone owing them money who will send you a cheque. This will be for far more than the item is worth, the idea being that you take the cost of the item and send the rest to their shipping agent. They will ask you to send via Western Union or Moneygram, NEVER SEND MONEY USING WESTERN UNION or MONEYGRAM for the overpayment of goods. Truth is that this will be a fake/counterfeit, stolen or an altered cheque (check). This will bounce eventually, often after you have sent the money to them. You will then owe the bank ££££'s - the scammer will have disappeared, abandoned the free email account he used to communicate to you. Think about it would anyone really trust a total stranger with more money than something is worth? * Clues to detect a scammer o Poor use of English, strange combinations of long words, god, bless ... o Strong emphasis on the payment method o Asking for information you have already given in the advert o May talk about representing a client, shipping agent .. o Have a sense of urgency to need your item - do they not sell it in their country? Buyers lookout for these signs! Lookout for items that are priced less than the market price! These tend to be cars that are being advertised for an amazing price. The price will be so good that you feel you need to get in touch. The advertiser will say the car is in another country to where you are, but that he has a good courier that will get the item to you in a few days. He will then ask for a deposit via Western Union or Moneygram, NEVER SEND MONEY USING WESTERN UNION or MONEYGRAM. Never send money for a deposit for something you have not seen, especially to someone overseas. Fraud Alert Do not accept cheques for your goods, from distant buyers, that are of a higher value than the item you are selling. The fraudsters post you a counterfeit cheques and you wire them your good money. Their cheque may well clear, but you will lose the funds once the bank realise the cheque is fraudulent. Example: you sell car for £5,000. They post you fake £7,000 cheque and you send them £2,000. Don't fall for it! Example of dodgy email: :::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Thanks for your mail, due to what i have told you concerning the payment and the shippment that you my shipper will come for the pick up of the BRAND NEW HP iPAQ pda H2210 as soon as the cheque clear. My client that is owning some funds in United Kingdom (£3,500), i will instruct him to issue the cheque for you and as soon as it clear you will deduct the cost of the BRAND NEW HP iPAQ pda H2210 (£389) the remaining balance will be send to my shipper via Western Union Money Transfer for immediately shipping arrangment. Do get back to me if these is okay by you, so that i can forward your information to my client ASAP.. Hope to hear from you soon ::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: GOOD LUCK! Sharon. |
||
|
|
Crew member |
I was approached by this company, saying they had 3 buyers waiting to view my car. I paid 89.99 as they couldnt view it unless i was registered. I heard nothing from the company or the buyers. I have spent months ringing them to be told they will call me back and sont or that the person i need to speak to is on the phone.
I have written two letters of complaint, both with the same standard response which didnt address my complaint. I am stil yet to recieve a refund, they take your money then dont contact you again and promise buyers waiting and full asking price. Dont Give Them Any Money, if anyone has any ideas how to get my money back, this would be greatfully recieve. I have also been contact by Buyers Direct and a few others all promising the same thing. They get quite annoyed if you say no to them, and claim they are different to the other companies. |
|||
|
|
Discoverer |
Contact your local Trading Standards Office. ____________________________________________ "The Early Bird catches the Worm", only goes to prove that the Worm should've stayed in bed!! I've taken a vow of poverty. To annoy me, send money. There's room for all God's creatures. Right next to the mashed potatoes. Health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die. |
|||
|
|
Crew member |
has anyone heard of a site called Autofield? I have been inudated with calls from some of those mentioned and a few more besides, some are very rude (and therefore stupid) to say the least. Autofield say they are a finance company.
|
|||
|
|
Discoverer |
Never, ever deal with a finance company that calls you up out of the blue.
____________________________________________ "The Early Bird catches the Worm", only goes to prove that the Worm should've stayed in bed!! I've taken a vow of poverty. To annoy me, send money. There's room for all God's creatures. Right next to the mashed potatoes. Health is merely the slowest possible rate at which one can die. |
|||
|
|
Crew member |
I have just been stung by this company - can't believe I was so stupid! They were also very rude and forceful - BE WARNED EVERYONE! |
|||
|
|
Crew member |
Hi, what happened in the end with Autofield? Did you go with them as they have approached me? Any help would be great.
|
|||
|
|
Crew member |
*******DO NOT GIVE AUTOFIELD ANY MONEY****** They have ripped me off and will do the same to you. They seem very convincing but please don't give them your money!!!
|
|||
|
|
Crew member |
Hi,
LOL, I have been ripped off by them about a year ago. Though I had after that started http://www.mecarz.com where you can advertise your car for free. http://www.mecarz.com where you can advertise your car for free. So why shall we pay for any one to rip us off and not really help us sell our car. Just get on the site register for free advertise your car there for free as well & get people calling instead of wasting your money. For me I love free stuff. If you have a lot of money you can donate to the site, but you really don't have to. I hope I can help save more people of that scam. Please post back in here with your comment and how I can help more and more. Enjoy, VMguru007 |
|||
|
|
Crew member |
Hey Leepu & bernie, This is shivpratap from India. You guys have done just awesome job. It's just unbelievable. I have seen whole series of yours and you've actually inspired me to brush up my innovation in designing cars. I just wanted to know that are you still doing any project & if yes then can I join in with you to learn more about car designing out of junk. Probably I can be one more hand added to the team. I'll be waiting for your response. My email ID is: shivps.chauhan@gmail.com
|
|||
|
| Previous Topic | Next Topic | powered by eve community |
| Please Wait. Your request is being processed... |
|
|